New Semester: Fall 2015

New semester is coming. It becomes busier but it should be more productive. Because one semester is only four months, it will be very tight. Specifically, this semester I am taking a class at KAIST which is strangely famous for difficult study process. Honestly, I am nervous for this class because I am totally new in this field, totally 180-degree different from my previous background about wireless communication. The class name is Special topics of Fundamentals of Machine Learning (ML).

Why am I taking relatively difficult class and new field?

Somehow this topic is booming now especially with Deep Learning used by Google. To be honest, I just think this topic will be beneficial for my future research. Even though now I am still not sure what I am going to research but machine learning is fundamentally required to be learnt for my lab. Since I am still a PhD student and have to handle many courses, I am going to learn as much as I can in this 2-year period. And this ML topic is related to Internet of Things (IoT) in terms of data classification and maybe processing, I guess. So, let’s rock this moment and hope I could get A+. Aamiin.

Another activity that I am taking soon is swimming class. If you read my previous post, unfortunately written in Indonesian, I successfully register to the class. Yeay! The schedule is early in the morning at 6.10AM. So wake up earlier is a must. I don’t want to miss any class. However, for now I just take the class for a month. Is taking one-month class enough to be good at swimming? I meant, I don’t want to be an athlete or a professional, I only want to have fun and do a free swim on the sea.

Lastly, I am planning to buy a new book titled “Elon Musk: Inventing the Future”. I watch youtube video about him in the past three days. This guy is totally “insane”. He’s amazing, great, and inspiring. Beside Steve Jobs and Mark Zuckerberg, I barely idolize, I meant very very very idolize a guy. And now I know about Elon Musk; I love him. I meant love for his thinking and goals. How come this guy becomes so incredible? For time being, I define a role model of total handsomeness as Elon Musk. Haha. So, if I buy this book, can I finish it in a month? Come on! Truthfully, I didn’t finish reading any book in these past months. It’s a sad truth. So, another goal of the year, reading a book every month. Noted.

Leave a Reply

