Twenty Seven 

Inspired by Twenty Six by Nathan Bashaw. Many sentences are copied from it. I wrote this on August 17, 2015 to celebrate my birthday.

Today I turn 27. I am not leaving my job (the writer of original article was leaving his job); I am a PhD student, involved in a project that is basically not related to my background, and has been tried studying my research idea since April. I am totally trapped in this environment intentionally, for good and bad reasons.

If there are bad things and something that I don’t like, why am I doing it though?

It has been 6 months after my official status as research student. I clearly remember the moment when I applied for this program and submitted my documents. A friend of mine helped me to submit required documents to the university. Well, I almost couldn’t make it. I was very excited and nervous. At that time, I was working at a small company in the same city as my university. It was good experience working in this small company, my boss and colleagues are kind and nice. *Don’t make them bad in this online and social life* I like my job but I need to leave this company to pursue my dream. Yes, I need PhD degree and I like doing research. Somehow this “I like doing research” makes me laugh. Do I really like doing research? I do and I don’t. Nobody loves something in every second of his life, right? For example I like eating chicken, do I eat chicken every single meal? Nope. That’s my point.

Deciding to enroll to university is not a money solution although my scholarship is way better than common universities in Korea. So it is merely about my life goal to become a PhD holder. There was another process after submitting document: interview. When I went through an online interview, I was very excited. I gave a big shot for it. And when I got accepted, it was one of the happiest moments of my life. I made it. Get accepted to university that I want. After that, I quit my job, went to short trip to Cebu, Manila, and Singapore, and went to beloved home country for two weeks. I did these activities before entering the new jungle, PhD life, to help me preparing my mentality. Then, the real battle came. I entered this university, campus, and lab. My professor is a nice person. Really. Let’s skip detail information about lab, campus, and my professor. That’s a short story of my life.

So this twenty-seven-years-old is the condition where I feel anxious. Project is just started and not really related to my background, research is somehow stagnant, so I need another thing to make me alive. I know my main job is doing project and research but the are many things sticked around my head needed to solve. And one of them is this project “Baju Bekas”. Couple days ago, a friend of mine asked my opinion about sending Baju Bekas from Korea to Indonesia. Yes, sometimes I have problem about this baju bekas. I don’t know where I should throw my unused clothes. Sometimes I just put it in trash bag together with others. It’s bad, I think it is not a proper way. So, from point of view of the idea, it’s a good, indeed. However, it requires high cost in delivery fee from Korea to Indonesia. After long discussion, I came up with an idea to solve this delivery fee problem but somehow it doesn’t really fit. This is the flow:

  1. Collect “baju bekas” from people in Korea (students or workers)
  2. Put this baju bekas on Instagram or Facebook
  3. Ask other people in Indonesia/Korea to donate money for delivery fee. Why? Because I want more people to get involved in this project
  4. Send all baju bekas via cargo. It takes several weeks or a month

My friend told me that he has relatives who can receive this packet and distribute baju bekas to needed people. So, I don’t worry about recipient. For financial transparency, whole transaction will be posted online. We need to be clear about it because it’s part of trust. What I can do is building trust between project owner and donatur.

Does this sound interesting to you? Here’s how you can get involved:

  1. Are you willing to give feedback or better solution to handle this problem? I would appreciate that a lot! Leave comments on this article.
  2. Are you interested in collaborating on this in any way? This is a great time for me to work with new people, so let’s talk! Hit me up on FB: here. Kakoa talk:@thomhert
  3. Are you blogger or web developer or web designer? You are needed in this project. A simple yet informative website is greatly helping this project.
  4.  Also, I’d love to just catch up and bounce ideas around. I’m a big believer in talking with people from all backgrounds to see how they react. You learn something different from everyone. So if you want to just talk, I would love that! Even if we’ve never met.

I appreciate people who want to work on this together. I know I’m not in this alone. Thank you for all your help!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

